Link to Year 5 Home Learning Pack

Interactive Learning Links


Here are some key elements in mathematics that you can support your child to embed at home:

  • Read and write numbers up to 1,000,000.

  • Read the time on an analogue and digital clock (12 hour and 24 hour)
  • Know that there are 365 days in a year and 366 in a leap year.
  • Know how many days there are in each month of the year (Thirty days has September, April, June and November. All the rest have 31 but February has 28, the leap year that comes once in four, gives February one day more).
  • Know that there are 60 seconds in a minute and 60 minutes in an hour.
  • Know all of the Roman numerals (I, V, X, C, L, D, M)
  • Convert between different units of metric measure (for example, kilometre and metre; centimetre and metre; centimetre and millimetre; gram and kilogram; litre and millilitre)
  • are currently offering one month of free access to their fabulous resources. When you go to sign up you will be asked for the discount code UKTWINKLHELPS


By the end of Year 5 your child is expected to be able to read and spell these words.

There are some excellent writing resources available at:

Year 5 6 Common Exception Words
Year 1 2 3 4 Common Exception


There are some excellent free resources on the internet that you can access to support your child to read at home. has lots of free e-books for you to access. You need to register but they can then be accessed for free. If you are unsure which colour band your child is reading at then please contact your class teacher via Parenthub. This is a brilliant website where you can listen to authors reading their stories out loud. Amazon has a large collection of free e-books for you to download onto your device.;jsessionid=ED3DB252854391728670F5076A3EC9E0.prodny_store01-atgap11 Barnes and Noble offer a selection a free e-books. are currently offering one month of free access to their fabulous resources. When you go to sign up you will be asked for the discount code UKTWINKLHELPS


iCompute are offering lots of free resources to support children to access the computing curriculum during school closures. They can be found at:


Over the coming weeks, year 5 will be learning about states of matter: soilds, liquids and gases.Below you will find a link to a document which outlines what your child is expected to know by the end of the unit. This pack also contains some activities you can do at home with your child to support their learning.

STEM Learning has some great links to videos and other activities to support your child with this topic:

The School Run also provides some great information for parents about how this topic is taught in primary schools:


At the end of Year 5 we would expect children to be able to name and locate:

  • The continents of the world: Africa, America, Asia, North America, South America, Europe, Oceania, Antarctica
  • The oceans of the world: Atlantic, Pacific, Arctic, Indian, Southern
  • The countries and capital cities of the United Kingdom

They should also know that the United Kingdom is divided up into counties.

They should know that Lincoln is in Lincolnshire and that Lincolnshire is bordered by several other counties: Norfolk, Nottinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Rutland, Leicestershire, South Yorkshire and the East Riding of Yorkshire.

Children should be able to locate:

  • The major mountains and ranges of the World: Himalayas, Mount Everest, Kilimanjaro, The Alps, Mount Blanc, K2, The Andes, The Rocky Mountains
  • The mountains and mountain ranges of the UK: The Pennines, Snowdonia, Mount Snowdon, Ben Nevis, The Scottish Highlands, The Lake District, Scaffell Pike, The Cotswolds


Year 5 Science Home Learning Pack [ WORD, 924.47 KB ]
The Black Death Topic Overview - September to October Half Term [ WORD, 29.71 KB ]
Stargazers Topic Overview - October Half Term to Christmas [ WORD, 29.44 KB ]
Pharaohs Topic Overview - January to February Half Term [ WORD, 30.47 KB ]